SACAU elects a new Board

SACAU ‘s new Board: SACAU Vice President Dr Sinare Y Sinare, Mrs Doreen Hlatshwayo, Mr Alfred Banda, Mr Phineas Gumede and SACAU CEO Mr Ishmael Sunga.

The Southern African Agricultural Unions (SACAU) recently elected a new Board at its Annual General Meeting (AGM) that was held in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, on 16 May 2018. Dr Sinare Y Sinare from the Agricultural Council of Tanzania was elected as the new Chairman of the Board and President of SACAU. He replaces Dr Theo De Jager who retired at the Meeting, having served as the President of the organisation for the past 5 years.

Mrs Doreen Hlatshwayo from the Swaziland National Agricultural Union was elected Vice President, a position that hitherto had been occupied by Dr Sinare. Mr Alfred Banda of Farmers Union of Malawi was retained as an Ordinary Director, whilst Mr Phineas Gumede of Agri South Africa joined the Board as an Ordinary Director. Mr Berean Mukwende of the Zimbabwe Farmers Union stepped down from the Board.

Several resolutions were adopted by the AGM. These include the granting of Honorary membership of SACAU to the outgoing Chairman, Dr de Jager and to Mr Salum Shamte from Tanzania who retired from the Board a few years ago. This honour is bestowed to individuals that have made outstanding contributions to the development of the organisation. In the same vein, Honorary membership of Mr Ajay Vashee (Zambia) and Mr Douglas Taylor-Freeme (Zimbabwe) who are two former Presidents of the organisation was extended for a further period of 5 years.

Other resolutions adopted cover the amendments to the Memorandum of Incorporation (MOI), the appointment of new external auditors, increasing the number of elected Board of Directors from the current four to five, as well as the adoption of key messages that emanated from the Annual Conference which preceded the meeting.

Finally, Uniao Nacional de Camponeses of Mozambique will host the 2019 AGM. The AGM is the organisation’s biggest and most important governance event on its annual calendar.