Our Members

SACAU’s core membership consists of national general interest apex farmers’ organisations. These organisations should represent farmers on a voluntary basis; be reasonably representative of farmers in the relevant country of southern Africa; are autonomous and legitimate farmer controlled organisations; are independent of political parties, and share common values and principles with SACAU. SACAU only deals with farmers through its members.

Membership currently stands  at 17 farmer organisations in 12 countries in southern Africa, as indicated below.

  1. Botswana Agricultural Union (BAU)
  2. Lesotho National Farmers’ Union (LENAFU)
  3. Coalition Paysanne de Madagascar (CPM)
  4. Confédération des Agriculteurs Malagasy (FEKRITAMA) (Madagascar)
  5. Farmers Union of Malawi (FUM)
  6. National Smallholder Farmers’ Association of Malawi (NASFAM)
  7. Uniao Nacional de Camponeses (UNAC) (Mozambique)
  8. Namibia Agricultural Union (NAU)
  9. Namibia National Farmers’ Union (NNFU)
  10. Seychelles Farmers’ Association (SEYFA)
  11. Agri South Africa (AgriSA)
  12. African Farmers’ Association of South Africa (AFASA)
  13. Swaziland National Agricultural Union (SNAU)
  14. Agricultural Council of Tanzania (ACT)
  15. Zambia National Farmers’ Union (ZNFU)
  16. Commercial Farmers’ Union (CFU) (Zimbabwe)
  17. Zimbabwe Farmers’ Union (ZFU)